Week 10: Web 3.0

Before taking this class, the web has always just been the ‘Web.’ Nothing fancy schmancy about that name until we learn that it’s now known as ‘Web 3.0.’ If you’re smart enough, you would know that if it’s a ‘3.0,’ it would mean that it has developed from a ‘1.0’ and a ‘2.0’ (and possibly a 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, etc. somewhere, but we know that those didn’t happen).

(Source)

If you noticed from the image above, what is new about Web 3.0 is that devices such as computers, tablets, and smartphones have joined us in this whole mish-mash of things. It has truly changed from an Informative Web (1.0), to an Interactive Web (2.0), to an Intelligent Web (3.0) that is highly personalized because “Web 3.0 learns and understands who you are and gives you something back.”

Sounds far-fetched? I feel that because of how seamlessly (well to me, anyway) we have moved from Web 2.0 to Web 3.0, we don’t actually realize its presence in our lives.

Well, to start off, we need to properly define Web 3.0. Even though we agar agar know what it means, it may be best defined by its features.

5 Main Features of Web 3.0
  1. Semantic Web
  2. Artificial Intelligence
  3. 3D Graphics
  4. Connectivity
  5. Ubiquity

I managed to think of a good example of Web 3.0 that fulfills Features #1, #2, #4, & #5 (#3 maybe?).

Intelligent personal assistant.

If that term sounds too high-tech, it’s basically Siri (for iOS), Cortana (for Windows 10), and the latest addition, Google Assistant. (And if you know how long Siri has been around for, that’s exactly how long Web 3.0 has been with us—this is what I mean by how sneaky this Web 3.0 is to creep up in our lives when we least expect it.)

Note at 1:18 where the video says, “And soon, you’ll be able to access it from all sorts of places, so it will be everywhere you are.” That would refer to how it would be ubiquitous in the future.

But perhaps, not many of us use such intelligent personal assistants. Is Web 3.0 still part of our lives? I would say yes. Just think about your Google searches. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find it scary at times how Google is able to predict what I’m going to type. I mean, I understand if it’s something that I search for often or it’s related to what I’ve been searching recently, but there were a few instances whereby I’m thinking about a random question in my head (that may not be related to my search history), and Google just predicts the rest of my question when I had only typed in the first letter.

It’s like how does Google even know? Has my online searching behavior been so well understood that Google actually knows me? It’s kinda freaky to be honest.

And not only that, the online ads that you see are also related to the pages you’re on, or the things that you’ve been searching for. My bro just told me that because he has been looking up for a new gaming mouse to buy, he has been seeing ads from Lazada showing the various gaming mouse that they are selling on its site. This is one way how Web 3.0 is also a Semantic Web which is able to understand the meaning of the words you type.

All these being said, are we actually helping Web 3.0 to become smarter? After all, if it’s artificial intelligence that it is running on, it still needs to be taught. I had this thought based on this game that is built-in with machine learning to guess our doodles.

Screenshot_2.png
Click to play!

The only reason why this program is able to correctly guess our doodles is because we fed it with information based on our own doodles. Similarly, based on our online behavior, we are continuously feeding information to help Web 3.0 grow to become smarter than before.

I really can’t imagine how far this whole intelligent web thing would go in the future… What if one day it knows me better than I know myself? 😱😱😱

Sources:

2 thoughts on “Week 10: Web 3.0

Leave a Reply

